Trent & Chase – Chapter 8 Now LIVE!

Good Morning! 😀

At least it is morning as I am typing this. ⭐ HAPPY NOVEMBER!!

As the title suggests, Chapter 8 is posted at a whooping 11,000+ words. As much patience as I have for long-winded stuff, George R. R. Martin not withstanding, even I have come to understand of a-loved-author-I-follow’s passionate dislike for editing after the completion of this chapter.

It is a beast on ugly days. Truly is. 😛

So ridiculously delighted that it is behind me. However, seeing that the next book, or following books might just be more “action” than “romance”… obviously I have some thinking to do, eh? XD

About the Chapter ~~

I have attempted numerous times across many days to split this monster chapter into two parts. It just couldn’t be done equally. It also made it somewhat annoying to read when I tried. My beta reader told me to leave it. He dislikes “cliffhangers” and thoroughly loves that I wrapped up the whole incident neatly in one chapter, leaving the rest of the novel for its original intention.

Since I am writing this for the person who has supported my writing since my college days, I decided to leave it as-is. 🙂

If I was to regale you how my Husband and I ended up getting hitched and how we came about to be where we are, most of you might think I’m making things up. So if my life can be unbelievable non-fiction, I was plagued with the question of how to make a story “believable fiction” from the very beginning.

Two alpha males. Two worlds. Now I need to throw them together more than just a simple X in the crossroads.

This chapter was what it took to get me there. As my Beta said, Chase had been on Trent’s radar since Chapter 1, but Trent isn’t on Chase’s radar. I have to get them there for this story to be more “two men finding each other” than “one man obsessively running after the other.”

“You will end up hating Trent if you do the latter, and I like Trent,” he had warned me.

What’d you know? He’s right. I would, because that’s exactly where it went before I had to reset back to Chapter 6 and try again. I had to do something that’ll put Trent and Chase on the same playing field.

The Det-Cord was thrown in for my personal fun. 😉

Even I think taking 8 chapters to finally get these men on equal footing is… stomping on the side of “ridiculous.” But… It’s my first novel. It’s practice. I’m getting my feet wet. I think I’m doing an okay job of it. If you don’t think so, kindly keep them to yourself for now. You can bash and punch in Book 2, but let me just have my men and enjoy them now.

I would like to say that this will probably be the extent of my US Air Force Para-rescue and Combat Search and Rescue obsession, but I doubt it. One of the books coming later – involving extensively of my Chase & Trent duo, will probably be about that.

I will have to find a few USAF Pararescuemen to chat with first. XD

So… The link to the NEW CHAPTER IS HERE. I do hope you enjoy.

Now for a Little Update ~~

I am participating in this month’s National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). If interested, you can find my profile HERE. The goal of this project is to write a novel in 30 days. Their definition of a novel is 50,000+ words. As of Chapter Eight, I’m past it. Therefore, my goal for NaNoWriMo is this:

Finish this story.

I don’t think I have another 50,000 words left in this. I don’t know. We shall see.

How I propose going about this without making it seem like I’m “cheating” would be counting only the words of the chapters I am writing – which is 13 onwards. If I finish the story, but is short of the word count, I’ll add everything from Chapters 1 through 12 to it to claim a victory because at that point, I did, in fact, finish both goals.

If I didn’t finish the story, then I won’t be adding anything to my word count. This year will be marked as “did not succeed.”

I think it’s relatively fair. 🙂

Unfortunately, that means the posting of this story is now on hiatus until December. I won’t be spending time editing. ONLY WRITING.

For those of you also involved in the NaNoWriMo, ⭐ ⭐ GOOD LUCK! ⭐ ⭐

*   *   *

Wynter, out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

